Darren Shaw Makes it Three in a Row on Rod End Supply Night at the Races I-35 Speedway

Kicking off a premier night of racing action at I-35 Speedway on a near perfect racing surface the E-Modifieds would take to the dirt first. Heat race winner and point leader John Brown #36j would use a pole starting position to his advantage by charging to the early lead. Other heat race winner Anthony Asher #20xa would challenege Brown using a high line to no avail as Brown would hold Asher in the closing laps to pick up the feature win, leaving Asher to place second. Big mover of the feature was Jeremiah Asher #02xa who would charge through the pack from a deep starting spot and passing all contenders on his way to place a solid third. Corey Myers #15 and Kyle Henning #1 would swap positions for several laps until Myers would claim fourth and Henning placing fifth.

Keeping the great racing action going the Hobby Stocks would not disappoint by seeing only one caution waved in their feature. “Conner Strong” would not be denied as Conner Masoner #47x, after claiming a heat race win, would lead every lap and also claim a trip to McCarthy Auto Group Winner’s Circle. Masoner prepares to leave for Indiana University for surgery and treatment as he continues his battle with cancer. Greg Gilbert #23g would challenge for the lead only to come up short in the end and placing second with big mover Mich Ross #34 finishing third. Other heat race winner John Chipp #47c would place fourth with current point leader Tyler Clark #0x rounding out the features top five.

Grand Nationals would see a new face in victory lane this 2015 racing season as Donnie Brown #26 would use heat race win momentum to launch out to the early lead and never turn over the top spot. Brown would be challenged late and consistently by Buz Kaster #54 who would go on to finish a very close second. Other heat race winner Bud Wilson #75 would fade late to place third with Austin Johnson #98 fourth and Houston Johnson #97 fifth.

Back to the track this week the Midwest Lightning Sprints would see it all in a great show for all spectators. Tom Brown #b20 would pull away with the lead in the feature and on to victory. Great racing would ensue throughout the pack as Ken Billings #85 and heat race winner Paden Moreland #19 would battle tooth and nail to the checkers with Billings second and Moreland placing third. Moreland would take a tumble coming off turn number two and end up on his side after the caution was thrown for another driver’s blown engine. After Paden’s car was righted it was determined to be safe enough to continue with competition and he would recover nicely in a third place finish. Tyler Miller #25m continues to make strides towards the front by placing a solid fourth with Rick Baxter #12b fifth. Other heat race winner was Mark K Billings #51, who would be among the leaders until developing mechanical issues taking him from contention.

USRA B-Modifieds would see a familiar face returning to I-35 Speedway as Andy Bryant #28 would again visit victory lane. Bryant would use a front row starting spot to gain the advantage and lead every lap on his way to claiming the checkers. Steve Starmer #11s was in the hunt the entire feature searching high and low for a way around the leader only to finish a little short in second. Current point leader and big mover of the feature was Tim Eaton #211 as he would drive through the pack on his way to placing a consistent third. Randy Ainsworth #57 would place a solid fourth with heat race winner Danan Knott #18k rounding out the night’s top five. Other heat race winners were Andy Bryant #28 and Mitch Booher #22b.

In an action packed wheel to wheel feature event the USRA Stock Cars would tackle the three-eighths mile speedway. Starting side by side the two heat race winners Dean Wray #77 and Jason Estes #997 would battle side by side with Estes setting the pace early. Estes would appear to be the car to beat until Wray would take the lead and the victory. Estes would go on to place second with Thomas Roberts #65x third. Gene Stigall #xx20 would battle the other #20x of Jon Boller Jr to the line as Stigall would place fourth leaving Boller fifth.

USRA Modifieds continue to see the very best racing action has to offer with three wide racing throughout the pack. Heat race winner Darren Shaw #11 would make it three feature wins in a row as he would put his Ford horsepower out front and in McCarthy Auto Group Victory Circle. It would not be easy for Shaw as Dennis Elliott #29 and Zach Sanders #69 would challenge on the inside to no avail as Shaw would not be denied on the high line. Sanders would use a late race charge to place second holding Elliott to third. Big mover of the race, starting last on the field, Austin Johnson willing his fast #98 to a solid fourth place finish. Shane Florence #41 continues to get faster each and every week bringing home a consistent fifth place finish. Other heat race winner was Steven Glenn #26s who developed mechanical problems taking him from the feature.

Intermission activities would see bike racing at its best as each age would compete with all entrants deemed the winners and receiving trophies. I-35 Speedway would like to invite all of our great fans back next Saturday Night for more “Dirt Trackin at its Best”.

Race Results I-35 Speedway 7/11/2015


  1. 36j John Brown (Heat Race Winner)

  2. 20xa Anthony Asher (Heat Race Winner)

  3. 02xa Jeremiah Asher

  4. 15 Corey Myers

  5. 1 Kyle Henning

  6. 81 Jacob Blair

  7. 31b Robert Fisk

  8. 6a Leroy Cameron

  9. 99c Chet Yates

  10. 23b Casey Burnett

  11. J90 Jorden Dawson

  12. 32 Chuck Adkins

  13. 319 Daniel Harris

Hobby Stocks:

  1. 47x Conner Masoner (Heat Race Winner)

  2. 23g Greg Gilbert

  3. 34 Mich Ross

  4. 47c John Chipp (Heat Race Winner)

  5. 0X Tyler Clark

  6. 27x Bradley Sheetz

  7. 13x Carson Masoner

  8. 37 Lane Chew

  9. 28 Tobin Bartlett

  10. 99 Jim Masoner Jr

  11. 34h Garrett Hill

Grand National:

  1. 26 Donnie Brown (Heat Race Winner)

  2. 54 Buz Kaster

  3. 75 Bud Wilson (Heat Race Winner)

  4. 98 Austin Johnson

  5. 97 Houston Johnson

  6. 9p Marty Powell

  7. 97bb BB Tex

  8. 1L Bobby Lopez

Midwest Lightning Sprints:

  1. B20 Tom Brown

  2. 85 Ken Billings

  3. 19 Paden Moreland (Heat Race Winner)

  4. 25m Tyler Miller

  5. 12b Rick Baxter

  6. 9s Chris Schofield

  7. 10b Luke Baxter

  8. 51 Mark K Billings (Heat Race Winner)

  9. 46m Dusty Murray

  10. 5 Devin Register


  1. 28 Andy Bryant (Heat Race Winner)

  2. 11s Steve Starmer

  3. 211 Tim Eaton

  4. 57 Randy Ainsworth

  5. 18k Danan Knott (Heat Race Winner)

  6. 52m Dustin Miller

  7. 49 Patrick Royalty

  8. 8 Coleman Browning

  9. 9h Nic Hanes

  10. 15b We Bestgen

  11. 31 David Coates

  12. 81 Jeff Jackson

  13. 96c Jim Cameron

  14. 22b Mitch Booher (Heat Race Winner)

  15. 5r Jason Reeves

  16. 27s Matt Shipers

  17. 17x Clint Baker

  18. 777 Brad Dittemore

  19. 77x Bud Wilson

USRA Stock Cars:

  1. 77 Dean Wray (Heat Race Winner)

  2. 997 Jason Estes (Heat Race Winner)

  3. 65x Thomas Roberts

  4. Xx20 Gene Stigall

  5. 20x Jon Boller Jr

  6. 21h Billie Hoover

  7. 88 Jeff Dixon

  8. 36s Holden Schultz

  9. 97j Jeff Elder

USRA Modified:

  1. 11 Darren Shaw (Heat Race Winner)

  2. 69 Zach Sanders

  3. 29 Dennis Elliott

  4. 98 Austin Johnson

  5. 41 Shane Florence

  6. 2h John Hanson

  7. 15 Don Stark

  8. R21 Ryan Schaffer

  9. 38 Anthony Logston

  10. 26s Steven Glenn (Heat Race Winner)

  11. 97 Houston Johnson