Buz Muffler and Rod End Supply Night at I-35 Speedway

Photo: Dan Parkison

Starting of the nights racing action the E-Mods would see a caution riddled feature with Heat Race Winner Jeremiah Asher #02XA In McCarthy Auto Group Victory Lane. Asher would lead every lap on his way to the win with another Heat Race Winner John “The Hammer” Brown #36J placing second.  Justin Asher #74 would challenge Brown for second and come up a little short and finish third with the young up and comer Jacob Blair #81 fourth. Rounding out the nights top five would be Colby Kearney #89K with an impressive run toward the front. Other Heat Race Winner was Manlee Lamar #4M.

Grand national was the next to tackle the 3/8th mile of dirt with pole sitter and heat race winner Donnie Brown #26 setting the pace early. Brown would be passed by Bud Wilson #7 and the fast #54 of Buz Kaster as these two would battle to the checkers. Wilson would hole on for the win with Kaster second. Brown would have contact with the #97 of Houston Johnson and slide to third with Johnson finishing fourth. Mary Powell #9P would again finish the night with a solid top five.

Midwest Lightning Sprints were low in number but high in quality as they took to the track. Heat race winner Mark Billings #51 would use the high line to his advantage and take the lead from pole sitter Mike Trent #49 and cruise to McCarthy Auto Group Victory Lane. Billings would be challenged late by #30 of Ryan Kent who would work the high side of Billings and would not be able to complete the pass, get loose in turn #4 and finish third. Pole sitter Mike Trent would finish third and B20 Tom Brown fourth. Car #85 driven by Ken Billings would end the nights feature in fifth.

Hobby Stock would be the next on the track and out on a great show for all the fans in attendance. After post-race inspections the winner of the feature for the second time in 2015 was Greg Gilbert #23G. Gilbert would race his way to the front and hold off the hard charge of Jon Boller Jr. #47XB. Boller would place second and the “Green Ox” Tyler Clark #0X third as heat race winner Tobin “Hitman” Bartlett fourth. Fifth place finisher would be the “Gamer” Carson Masoner #13X as the Hobby Stocks completed their feature action.

USRA B-Mods would take to the track race side by side to the finish with a first time winner in victory circle. Shadren Turner #17T would us the inside line to pass point leader Andy Bryant #28 to pick up his first ever feature win. Turner would not be denied as he held onto the lead and cross the line first holding Bryant to second. Great racing ensued behind the leaders as Truman Asher #73 and Ed Noll #15 would go door to door at the line with Asher by a fender placing third and Noll fourth. Tim Eaton #211 would notch another great run finishing in fifth position. Heat race winners were Dustin Miller 52M, Truman Asher #73, Shadren Turner #17T and Andy Bryant #28. B-Feature winner was Bud Wilson #75.

USRA Stock Cars as always would put on a display going green white checkers in an exciting side by side race to the finish. Heat race winner Dean Wray #77 would use the pole position to take the early lead as Thomas Roberts #65X would challenge early. Roberts would fade slightly as charging from the back to the front was #88 of Jeff Dixon. Dixon would search high and low for a way to take the fast Mopar of Wray and made a daring move on the last lap. At the line Wray would edge Dixon by mere inches to pick up the win and claim the trophy in victory lane. Dixon would race his heart out and place second with Thomas Roberts third. Fourth and fifth witnessed great racing as Billie Hoover #21H and Richard Moulton #18 battled. Hoover would come home fourth and Moulton Fifth.

Twenty high flying, fire breathing, alcohol drinking USRA Modifieds would take to the track and put on a show to be remembered. Terry Shultz #90 would use a heat race win momentum to take the early lead and hold off all challengers winning the star studded feature. Great racing action behind winner Schultz would see Darren Shaw #11 and Cory Wray #69N battle from start to finish with Shaw second and Wray third. 2014 Track Champion Zach Sanders #69 would claim the nights fourth place spot with Ryan Schaffer #R21 the big mover of the race placing fifth. Other heat race winners were Lewis Jackson #3J and Darren Shaw #11.

 I-35 Speedway would like to thank all our fans for attending tonight’s racing action and we will be back to Saturday Night next week. Intermission saw a special presentation as we honored Buz Kaster on his induction into the CARB Hall of Fame. Join us next week for more “Dirt Trackin at its Best” I-35 Speedway.
See you there!
 Race Results I-35 Speedway 4/26/2015
1. 02XA Jeremiah Asher (Heat Race Winner)
2. 36J John Brown (Heat Race Winner)
3. 74 Justin Asher
4. 81 Jacob Blair
5. 89K Colby Kearney
6. 90 Allie Mulich
7. 15 Corey Myers
8. J90 Jorden Dawson
9. 4M Manlee Lamar(Heat Race Winner)
10.  1H Ryan Henning
11.  25 Scotty Grenier
12.  31B Robert Fisk
13.  63D Duston Talbott
14.  03K Kaelynn Peterman
15.  27 Lee Kenney
16.  14 Austin Bouzek
17.  319 Daniel Harris
18.  7 Nick Little
Grand National:
1. 7 Bud Wilson
2. 54 Buz Kaster
3. 26 Donnie Brown (Heat Race Winner)
4. 97 Houston Johnson
5. 9P Marty Powell
6. 98 Austin Johnson
7. 3 Dale Eaton
Midwest Lightning Sprint:
1. 51 Mark K. Billings (Heat Race Winner)
2. 49 Mike Trent
3. 30 Ryan Kent
4. B20 Tom Brown
5. 85 Ken Billings
6. 25 Tyler Miller
7. 19 Paden Moreland
Hobby Stock:
1. 23G Greg Gilbert
2. 47XB Jon Boller Jr.
3. 0X Tyler Clark
4. 28 Tobin Bartlett (Heat Race Winner)
5. 13X Carson Masoner
6. 22H Tim Hoselton
7. 34 Mich Ross
USRA B-Modified:
1. 17T Shadren Turner (Heat Race Winner)
2. 28 Andy Bryant (Heat Race Winner)
3. 73 Truman Asher (Heat Race Winner)
4. 15 Ed Noll
5. 211 Tim Eaton
6. 17X Clint Baker
7. 52M Dustin Miller (Heat Race Winner)
8. 75W Bud Wilson (B Feature Winner)
9. 10 Johnny McGinnis
10.  75 David Bouzek
11.  20X Chris Wright
12.  15B Wes Bestgen
13.  96C Jim Cameron
14.  18K Danan Knott
15.  57 Randy Ainsworth
16.  7B Bobby Russell
17.  52R Richard Biggs
18.  32P Jeremy Pittsenbarger
19.  3D Matt Dorssom
20.  33J Jason Billups
21.  42R Jarrett Ross
22.  17C Cullen Thompson
23.  777 Brad Dittemore
24.  20J Jayden Bears
25.  13 Steve Blake
26.  76 Ronnie Miller
27.  17R Ramon Ortega
28.  1 Carl Bachner
USRA Stock Car:
1. 77 Dean Wray (Heat Race Winner)
2. 88 Jeff Dixon
3. 65X Thomas Roberts
4. 21H Billie Hoover
5. 18 Richard Moulton
6. 20X Jon Boller Jr.
7. 36S Holden Schultz
USRA Modified:
1. 90 Terry Schultz (Heat Race Winner)
2. 11 Darren Shaw (Heat Race Winner)
3. 69N Cory Wray
4. 69 Zach Sanders
5. R21 Ryan Schaffer
6. 71 Jim Hopkins
7. 53 Ronnie Woods
8. 26S Steven Glenn
9. 42 Sam Florence
10. 8 Mark Hoover
11. 98 Austin Johnson
12. 22 Nick Shenberger
13. 5D Shane Bailey
14. 2H John Hanson
15. 92 Tyler Grooms
16. 38 Anthony Logston
17. 3J Lewis Jackson (Heat Race Winner)
18. 16 Tyson Lanfermann
19. 97 Houston Johnson
20. 22H Clay Hale