I-35 Speedway Post Banquet Press Release

I-35 Speedway Post Banquet Press Release

The Super Fun I-35 Speedway banquet was held on Saturday November 4. 2017 and gets better each year!  What a great banquet it was with fabulous food, fun, great racing stores, dancing, smiles, and happiness all around.  This date was a week earlier than last year, which allows all our deer hunters to enjoy their season. 

A very happy social hour took place where racing stories from 2017 and plans for 2018 were discussed. Pit Stop Catering provided a scrumptious meal of Smoked Brisket and/or Chicken, Mashed Potatoes, Pasta Salad, Baked Beans, a Roll, with dessert of cookies and cupcakes readily available.  High Maintenance Photography provided a video recap of the season.

Master of Ceremonies Jacob Blair and Mark Merrell took to the stage and hosted the evening’s awards.  First, they brought up track owners Mike and Kyle Johnson to present the awards.  The Top 10 in E Mods were the first to be honored, followed by the Pure Stocks, Grand Nationals, USRA B Mods, USRA Stock Cars, and USRA A Mods.  Congratulations to the 2017 Champions: E Mods Randy Smith, Pure Stocks Cletus Murray, Grand Nationals Donnie Brown, USRA B Mods Bud Wilson, USRA Stock Cars Dean Wray, and USRA A Mod Dennis Elliott. 

John Hanson and Manlee Lamar were the Sportsmen of the Year.  Rookies of the Year were E-Modified Chris Mercer, USRA B-Modified Garret Hill, USRA A Modified Nic Hanes, and Pure Stock Brandon Hoover. Special Recognition Awards were presented to the Community Ambulance Service of Daviess County and to the Show Me Vintage Racers and Mickey Fleehart.  Hook of the Year went to Bridgeman’s Wrecker Service.  The Gene Tuttle Award winner was Travis Shewmaker.

The Awards ceremony culminated with the induction of Buz Kaster, Bud Wilson, and Paula Wilson- Murphy into the 2017 class of the I-35 Speedway Hall of Fame.  Then in a surprise moment, owner Mike Johnson took the microphone and announced the 2018 class to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, Randy Ainsworth, Larry Kaster, and Ed and Betty Schwope.  What a great end to an exciting fun banquet!

Scroll Up