92 Cars Check in the Pits on Larry McFee Trucking Night at I-35 Speedway

92 Cars Check in the Pits on Larry McFee Trucking Night at I-35 Speedway

E-Modified would start the great racing action on Larry McFee Trucking night at I-35 Speedway. Randy Smith Jr would use a front row starting spot to take the early lead and set a blistering pace for the rest of the field to follow. Heat winners J J Baumli #46 and Chris Mercer #13 would start ninth and tenth on the field and work their way to the front to challenge Smith as the race progressed. A late race caution would bunch the field of competitors on the ensuing restart. Smith would take the lead and charge on to the win holding off second place finisher J J Baumli and third place Chris Mercer whom would battle to the line.

Show Me Vintage Racers would take to the track next and see Leroy Holler #29 move through the field and take the lead early to never look back and pick up the feature win. Holler would win his heat and feature on this night of competition and stand tall in McCarthy Auto Group winners circle. Second would go to the always fast 1956 Ford of Damon Clevenger #6 with Jeremy Turner #11 recovering from an early race mishap to place third. Dave Baldwin #4 would come home I position number four with Jim Clevenger #76 racing to a fifth place run. Other heat winner was Steve Hughs #01 who would develop mechanical issues forcing him from contention. Leroy holler and the rest of the Vintage Drivers dedicated this race to longtime friend and driver who passed away Joe Crist.

Midwest would again be in action at I-35 Speedway this week and witness Tom Brown #B20 win both his heat and feature on this night. Brown would have to work the high line to pass Ryan Secrest #94, who would finish second on the night, to take the checkers first and secure the victory. Jason Billups #2 would race to third with heat winner Mark Billings #51 fourth and Ken Billings #85 rounding out the night’s top five.

For the second week in row Pure Stock would see a first time winner in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle at I-35 Speedway. Heat winners Cletus Murray #21M and Kerry Ayres #99A would lead the field to green and would put on a show of epic proportions for the crowd. Ayres would work the high side of Murray and take the lead for good late in the race claiming his first ever feature win. Murray would come home a close second and congratulate Ayres in victory lane after the race. Beau Well #555 would end the night third with last week’s winner C J Turner #91 coming from last to place fourth. Mich Ross in a rare appearance in Pure Stock would drive #14X to a fifth place showing. Kerry Ayres would donate all his winnings to 9 year old Karson Harris who was at the track raising money for the hurricane victims in Texas.

Sport Compact continues to great and put on a great show as they completed their feature event. Alvin Cooney #69C would battle on the high side of heat winner Dakota Girard #3W to get the lead and hold it until a late race caution would bunch the field. Girard would slip by Cooney on the restart and hold the front winning the feature on this night. Cooney would place second with Chris Brockert #82 third, Drew Tully #33 fourth and Isaiha Penton fifth.

Grand National would see point leader Donnie Brown #26 win both his heat race and feature in close race at the line. Donnie Brown would take the lead early with John Brown #36J challenging with 0R of Chad Fuller racing from the back of the pack to the front. Other heat winner Fuller was the big mover of the race coming from a last starting position passing cars and landing in a close second place at the line. John Brown would place third with Mike Jones #5 fourth and Billie Hoover #97 fifth on the night. Chad Fuller would also give his winnings for second place to Karson Harris for his Hurricane Relief Fund.

USRA B-Modifieds would see the battle of heat race winners and point contenders as the feature got underway. Heat winner Bud Wilson #22W would use a front row starting spot to get the lead against Randy Ainsworth #57 as the two went toe to toe on the track Wilson would continue to lead with Ainsworth second until Eddie Schwope Jr #91 would get past Ainsworth and enter the fight for the lead. Wilson would hold off the late charge of Schwope Jr to claim the win and add to his point lead celebrating in victory lane. Heat winner Schwope Jr would place second with Ainsworth a close third. Fourth would go to a charging Ed Noll #15 with Daniel Harris #07 racing his way to round out the night’s top five.

USRA Stock Car would again se the familiar face of Dean Wray #77 in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle. Heat winner Wray would pick up win 15 of the 2017 racing season at I-35 Speedway. Second place would go to Austin Bouzek #75 as he would work his way to the front. Heat winner Sam Scott would put his #93 through the spin cycle in turn number two and never stop doing the perfect 360 and losing only one spot to place third. Fourth would belong to Jeff Dixon #88 with Drew Huff #55 ending the feature fifth.

USRA Modifieds would see racing among the top three that you could throw a blanket over as heat winner Dennis Elliott #29, Derrick Hicks #78 and Nic Bidinger #3B would do battle to the checkers. Elliott would take the early lead and battle Hicks for the front with great high low racing on the fast speedway. As Elliott and Hicks would battle Nic Bidinger would work the extreme high side and charge by both taking the lead and pulling away. Bidinger would lead until slipping over the birm in turn four allowing Hicks to take the front. Bidinger would not be denied and charge back by Hicks on the outside and see the checkers first picking up the win. Hicks would finish second with Elliott third. Fourth would see John Hanson #2H work his way through the field with Hall of Famer Buz Kaster #54 rounding out the night’s top five. Other heat winner was Clay Hale #22H.

Karson Harris would like to thank all those that donated to his cause as he added to his Hurricane Relief Fund. I-35 Speedway would like to thank all our drivers and fans for another great night of racing and family fun! See everyone next Saturday Night as we welcome MAV TV and Lucas Oil PowerI Sprint Cars to I-35 Speedway where there is always more “Dirt Trackin at its Best”!

Scroll Up